The Stray Birds Sign to Yep Roc, Announce New Album

Photographer: Doug Seymour

Traditional folk trio and hometown heroes The Stray Birds announced today details for their sophomore full-length, Best Medicine, which will be released on Yep Roc Records on October 21, just shy of a year since dropping the Echo Sessions EP in November 2013. A fall tour is to be announced later this summer.

Comprised of Maya de Vitry (vocals, guitar, banjo, fiddle, piano), Oliver Craven (vocals, guitar, resonator, fiddle), and Charles Muench (vocals, bass, banjo), the Lancaster-rooted trio has steadily grown since first releasing its debut EP, Borderland, in 2010, having since played on NPR’s Mountain Stage, at the Philadelphia Folk Festival and many a folk festival in between. Marked by tight harmonies, old-time Appalachian-style fiddle and mandolin and a stripped-down live performance, The Stray Birds’ have garnered an ever-increasing amount of praise along the way, including the outfit’s self-titled full-length being placed on NPR’s Top 10 Folk/Americana albums list in 2012.

Best Medicine was recorded at Stonebridge Studios in Leesburg, VA, and is co-produced by the band and Stuart Martin. Weighing in at 12 tracks, Best Medicine features 10 original songs and two traditionals from The Stray Birds’ live repertoire – “Pallet” and “Who’s Gonna Shoe.”

Here’s the tracklist for Best Medicine:

1. Best Medicine
2. Adelaide
3. Feathers & Bone
4. San Antonio
5. The Bells
6. Never For Nothing
7. Pallet
8. Stolen Love
9. Who’s Gonna Shoe
10. Black Hills
11. Simple Man
12. Might Rain

  • Share on Tumblr
Posted in Articles, Harrisburg, Lancaster, Music, Music – Harrisburg, Music – Lancaster, Music – York, York

Mike McMonagle is a late-to-bed guy who tries daily to be an early riser. He drinks coffee, beer, whiskey and water regularly. He moonlights as a singer/songwriter by the name of Mike McMonagle. He makes photos sometimes, usually of his cat, or of puddles. Mike is the former digital editor for Fly; he left in 2015.

Close Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *