American Football announce first album in 17 years

Since American Football last put out an album, there have been 6.1 million people born, 42 Marvel films and…one Avalanches album. Now, much like those goofy Australians, the band is making its first new musical step of the 21st century with the announcement of their first album in 17 years. The new album, like the first one, will be called “American Football.” The 1999 release featured plaintively sad songs over diverse instrumentation that caught the ear of a whole generation of kids just finding out what “emo” was (and wasn’t). The band first got back together to play their initial album in 2014.

The news of the album also brought with it the first single from the album, the possibly-ironically titled “I’ve Been So Lost For So Long.” It’s a welcome reminder of the band’s power of locking into a finger-picked groove and features shades of Mike Kinsella’s Owen project. “American Football” comes out on October 20. Check below for the new single, tracklisting and initial show announcements.

“American Football” tracklisting

01 Where Are We Now?
02 My Instincts Are the Enemy
03 Home Is Where the Haunt Is
04 Born to Lose
05 I’ve Been So Lost for So Long
06 Give Me the Gun
07 I Need a Drink (or Two or Three)
08 Desire Gets in the Way
09 Everyone Is Dressed Up

2016/2017 Tour Dates

10-29 Chicago, IL – Vic Theatre
01-28 New York, NY – Terminal 5
02-11 London, England – Shepherd’s Bush Empire
02-25 Los Angeles, CA – The Ace Hotel Theatre

  • Share on Tumblr
Posted in Music

Kevin Stairiker is a features writer for Fly. He is a graduate of Temple University and enjoys writing in third person. When he isn't writing, he's probably playing guitar for a litany of bands, reading comics or providing well-needed muscle at The Double Deuce.

Close Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *